The Vatican Publishing House was founded in 1587 by Sixtus V within the Vatican Printing House and was separated from the latter in 1926. It is the official publishing house of the Holy See and has its own statute and regulations. It publishes official documents and deeds of the Holy See in addition to a great many ecclesiastical works.

The catalogue can be consulted directly online, and publications can also be requested:

  • by post:
    – with payment in advance to post office account number 00774000 (Italy) made out to the Libreria Editrice Vaticana, Via della Posta, 00120 Vatican City
    – by cheque
    – cash on delivery
  • at bookshops:
    – Libreria Internazionale Giovanni Paolo II, Piazza San Pietro, Braccio di Carlo Magno
    – Libreria Internazionale Paolo VI, Via di Propaganda 4
    – Libreria Internazionale Benedetto XVI, Piazza Pio XII 4
  • at dealers:
    – Milan: MESCAT srl, Viale Bacchiglione 20/A
    – Padua: Messaggero Distribuzione, Via Orto Botanico, 11; Ferrari Libri srl, Via IV Novembre 9, Limena (PD)
    – Bologna: Dehoniana Libri srl, Via Scipione dal Ferro 4
    – Ravenna: Itaca Libri, Via Provinciale Lughese 1880, Castel Bolognese (RA)