This page provides a list of the annual public holidays established by the Holy See on which all offices within the Vatican City remain closed.

Festivities that vary each year are Easter and, as a result, Ascension Day and Corpus Christi.

  • Every Sunday Lord’s Day
  • 1 January New Year’s Day
  • 6 January Epiphany
  • 11 February Anniversary of the establishment of the Vatican City State with the Lateran Pacts
  • 13 March Anniversary of the election of Pope Francis
  • 19 March Saint Joseph Patron of the Church
  • Easter Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, Easter Saturday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday and Easter Tuesday (varies between the 22 March and 25 April)
  • 23 April Name day of the Pope
  • 1 May Saint Joseph Artisan
  • Ascension Day Varies: 40 days after Easter Sunday
  • Corpus Christi Varies: the Thursday after the Holy Trinity
  • 29 June Feast of Saints Peter and Paul the Apostles, Patrons of Rome
  • 14 August Saint Maximilian
  • 15 August Assumption of the Virgin Mary
  • 16 August Saint Stephen of Hungary
  • 1 November All Saints’ Day
  • 2 November All Souls’ Day
  • 8 December Immaculate Conception
  • 24 December Christmas Eve
  • 25 December Christmas
  • 26 December Saint Stephen
  • 27 December Saint John the Evangelist
  • 31 December Saint Sylvester

Feasts and Anniversaries

Among the ceremonies, the feasts and anniversaries to remember are:

  • 13 March Anniversary of the Pontificate of Francis
  • 2 April Anniversary of the death of Pope John Paul II
  • 23 April Name day of the Pope
  • 17 December Birthday of Pope Francis

Papal Chapel

In November: for the deceased cardinals and bishops of each year, a Papal Chapel is held. The ceremony can take place on 2 November, All Souls’ Day, or on any other day, depending on the decision made by the Vatican.